Crunchy Bottoms

Striking the caloric balance. Barely.

The Wooden Spoon

Wooden Spoon

UR has been taking up tons of my time these past two weeks, but if anything, it has given me a wealth of opportunity to meet the people behind humble establishments, to sample cuisines I’d otherwise never try, and – best of all – bumped up my chances of stumbling across hidden gems.

How I’ve managed to waltz by The Wooden Spoon the bajillion times I’ve made my way to Tom’s Palette is beyond me. I mean, it’s just right beside it! I’m talking about like 10cm away. Grab your cup of ice cream and shimmy over for $1 scones.

Good $1 scones.

Lordie, I want one now.

Blueberry Muffin! ($1.30)

Oh silly me, I meant $1 scones and $1.30 moisttenderfragrantoozyfluffy blueberry muffins. Well ok, so we happened to be there at 11am, and everything happened to be freshly made just a couple of hours ago, but I’m willing to bet all the muffin-mass I’ve been gaining that they’ll be just as moist and heavenly half a day later.

That is if they don’t run out by the time you make it around to try to get some. And let me warn you, they run out fast. They lunch crowd sweeps in like a tsunami and leaves empty baskets of crumbs by 1pm.

Blueberry Muffin ($1.30). Raison Scone ($1)

But don’t fret. They make several batches of freshly baked goods in a day. Those big hunka ovens stacked to the right of The Wooden Spoon aren’t there merely for decor, as much as they easily blend into the homey, beautifully designed interior. I’d make batch after batch of muffins and cookies and scones all day if I had such a gorgeous oaken table for my work bench.

So were the $1 scones any good? You betcha.

They were still crusty around the edges, crumbling away easily. These are real buttery scones, so these aren’t going to be just a simple indulgence, no matter how small they are, but all that lovely butter makes these one of the best scones for $1 a pop. 

As if tasty muffins and incredibly good scones aren’t enough, The Wooden Spoon offers an assortment of cookies that are sold per 100g in pretty jars lined up neatly on the counter top. It’ll be quite the dilemma choosing among Pistachio Muffins, Banana Muffins, Cookies and Scones. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

The Wooden Spoon

Address: 

Shaw Towers

100 Beach Road, 189702

#01-24

Opening Hours: Daily 10am-8pm

Tel: 62978839


		

2 responses to “The Wooden Spoon

  1. stargirl June 12, 2011 at 10:23 am

    i love their scones too! i heard their egg cakes are good but they’re always sold out by the time i get to the shop…

  2. Christine Leow June 14, 2011 at 12:15 am

    Oh yes I did notice the egg cakes. Didn’t try though! Guess I will next time!

Leave a Reply

