Crunchy Bottoms

Striking the caloric balance. Barely.

Blueberry Cream Cheese Pizza

Blueberry Cream Cheese Pizza

Hi.

No, this isn’t me doing wacky stuff in the kitchen as a result of horrible jet lag.

In fact, you know what? I haven’t even been in the kitchen at all ever since I came back from tripping all over Europe. Why? Because I’ve been running myself against the wall, pulling the split-ends in my hair out and threatening my computer with a jack hammer because it refuses to detect over a hundred pictures that I took during my trip. No, they turn up perfectly fine on my camera but vanish in Windows. If you don’t pull your act together you stupid computer, I’m buying a Mac!

So, till I figure out where them pictures are hiding in my CPU or when my computer finally succumbs to my desperate wailing and sobbing, here’s a dessert pizza from a while back – before I went off and got myself deathly afraid of bread from eating it every single day.

This is but the first to come of a slew of dessert pizzas that I’ll churn out once I overcome my temporary aversion to flour and sweet things. That’s weird, you say? The Italians will strangle me with to death with spaghetti for butchering a pizza? Well I’m sure they’ll be welcoming me with open arms once I throw together Nutella and banana. Or baked apples, cinnamon and custard. Or dark chocolate and candied oranges.

Everyone else makes blueberry cheesecakes.

I make pizza.

How about that eh?

So go on, give your favourite dessert a twist. Anything on a crisp, thin crust is fantastic.

Although I should give due warning that not everyone cozies up to the notion of sweet pizza. Like how some people hate tamagoyaki (japanese sweet omelette). Shrugs. Weirdos.

Well less for them and more for you.

Blueberry and Cream Cheese Pizza

Makes one 12 inch pizza

Ingredients:

  • 1 12-inch frozen thin-crust pizza base, thawed*
  • 80g fresh blueberries, washed and dried
  • 1 vanilla pod (use 1 tsp vanilla extract to substitute)
  • 250g Philadelphia Light cream cheese (the normal will do)
  • 4 tbs castor sugar
  • zest of 1 lemon, divided into 2 portions for separate use
  • 20g ameretti biscuits, roughly chopped
  • white chocolate shavings (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 250C (ideally for an oven with bottom heat setting) or the highest your oven will go**.

2. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the cream cheese and 1 portion of the lemon zest. Split open the vanilla pod, scrape out the seeds and mix them in with the cream cheese. Add the castor sugar gradually for even distribution.

3. On a baking tray, bake the pizza base for 10-12 minutes (on the lowest rung if the heat is coming from the bottom) till the base is browned. Take the base out and turn down the oven to 200C (ideally with the grill setting now).

4. Spread the cream cheese mixture over the base and sprinkle over blueberries. With the tray on the top rung, bake for 10-15 minutes, until the blueberries start oozing their gorgeous purple juices and the rim of the pizza is lightly charred**.

5. Sprinkle over ameretti chunks, the remaining lemon zest and white chocolate shavings to serve.

*I wasn’t planning on posting this till I finished experimenting with my thin-crust pizza base formula. I’ll update this post once that’s done. Till then – as much as it killed me to even suggest it – the next best alternative is a store-bought pizza base.

**The method of baking the base first is so that it remains crisp longer without it soaking up moisture from the other ingredients and turning soggy instead. Apparently a thin layer of oil separating the base from the ingredients does even better. Or so I’ve read. So if you’d like, a spread a thin layer of butter on the surface of the base before baking.

***It’s tricky to get the blueberries oozing and the crust crispy at the same time. You might need to keep a close eye on the progress because I had to frantically adjust the temperature and duration to get both done. Even then, it wasn’t what I had liked it to turn out.

One response to “Blueberry Cream Cheese Pizza

  1. eviroboy July 7, 2010 at 1:15 am

    Very creative! I gotta try some of that sometime!!

Leave a Reply

