Crunchy Bottoms

Striking the caloric balance. Barely.

Squid Ink Ramen

Squid Ink Ramen

I have a morbid fascination for black food. If it’s black, I want it and I don’t care if I can’t even pronounce three syllables of it. And if it’s black because it’s been stained by squid ink, even better!

Told you I’d take a pretty picture.

I took a good long time deciding how I was going to eat this, and because I wanted to be able to taste every nuance in the strands, I thought eating it cold would be best. This tasted just like regular egg ramen, and even better with the slgihtly spicy shio (salt) seasoning it came with. And this was only half of the portion from a packet from Isetan. I guess I really don’t eat much when I cook for myself.

And Adam, yes, this was my simple ramen lunch before I met you guys at the studio and drowned you with cookies.😄

I haven’t had maggie mee in years, and now I’ve upgraded to ramen. I don’t know when I’ve become such a snob. Yea I see your everlasting support of me, Ashley. Our level of snobbery will soar to greater heights. Well it’s burning a hole in my pocket. Psh.

I haven’t seen squid ink ramen in regular supermarkets, although the cooking method is the same.

I find it interesting what writer’s block does to different individuals. For my case, it makes me cranky and I feel like gnawing my finger off. Or having that last half of squid ink ramen…

8 responses to “Squid Ink Ramen

  1. Oliver April 21, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    Ok, this black ramen looks scary to me HAHA!

    I didn’t mind the black ‘macaroni like thing’ at Cafe Del Mar!

    Still it’s probably nice when you are the chef HAHA!

    • Christine Leow April 22, 2010 at 11:31 am

      -.- That wasn’t black ‘macaroni’. That was squid ink risotto you dingbat. RICE. Hahaha. Feel like throwing a sack of rice at you. And of course it’s nice. I wouldn’t eat shitty food right.

  2. sandra April 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    I have not had squid ink ramen yet because I do not like to eat noodles.

  3. gushi April 25, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    That is a really good picture! Looks like I can grab it and just eat it! Teach me how to make ramen proper! Or is it like maggi mee?

  4. indyastaric06 June 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    woow.. black ramen…it looks like worms..
    How does it taste?

Leave a Reply

