Crunchy Bottoms

Striking the caloric balance. Barely.

Seafood Squid Ink Linguini

Seafood Squid Ink Linguini

Most weekends, I stagger out of bed close to lunch time and am suddenly required to come to the timely rescue of Saturday lunch. Like that soba the other time. The day that the family’s home is a day for proper meals and definitely not the Pasta with Mussels that was so suggested.

I don’t cook quite so often as I’d like mainly because I never have enough essential ingredients for any recipe that I’d like to try, and running to NTUC after mistaking the sour cream for my jar of yoghurt for breakfast at 11am? I probably wouldn’t make it home in one piece.

So, you know, I eat whatever’s on the table the moment my stomach demands to be fed.

If Saturday lunch were to be hastily thrown together, however, I want to be the one doing it. I will jump off a bridge into a vat of acid before I let anyone forcefully bind frozen mussels with a mish-mash of leftover pasta in a meal. NO.

Cringing as I swallowed my last spoonful of sour cream and cereal (I’m joking. I’m not such a klutz. You may laugh now.), I ripped through the kitchen feverishly, throwing open cupboards and drawers and pulling out my last can of emergency tomatoes, frozen prawns and New Zealand Mussels, and the long forgotten packet of squid ink linguini my mom bought on a whim at Jones the Grocer months ago. I’m glad she did.

When in doubt, cook pasta.

And by that I mean decent pasta.

Then, of course, by virtue of anything going right when they’ve started to go wrong for me, I skipped out to the garden to find out that my basil plant had all but withered and died miserably. Can anything survive in my house?! I yanked off a branch of mockingly flourishing dill at the side of the garden and stormed back inside.

I’m a peace lover, by all means. But rushing my cooking is the equivalent of waging war on my kitchen.

Fingertips pink and raw from testing the doneness of boiling pasta, palms stabbed by the jagged snouts of prawns while scrubbing them and tomato sauce spattered over my front like fresh wounds, I emerged an hour later dazed and suitably hungry.

And so if there’s only one picture in this post as opposed to half a dozen, pardon me if I wanted to spare the Nikon from the battlefield.

Seafood with Squid Ink Linguini

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of chopped tomatoes (about 400g)
  • 3 cloves of garlic (finely sliced)
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 250g squid ink linguini
  • 12 prawns (Fresh preferred. Take out to thaw if frozen.)
  • 12 mussels
  • 2 large red chillies (Halved, de-seeded and sliced thinly)
  • A handful of fresh dill (chopped roughly)
  • 1 tbs olive oil

Directions:

1. Heat up a large pan and add the olive oil. Lightly fry the slices of garlic and chillies until slightly coloured. Pour in the cup of white wine. After a minute or so, add the can of tomatoes and season with salt and pepper. Simmer the mixture on low heat while the pasta cooks.

2. Boil the pasta according to packet instructions, about 5 minutes.

3. Turn up the heat and add the seafood to the sauce. When the prawns are cooked thoroughly, drain the pasta into a collander and add to the sauce. Be sure to mix and coat the pasta well before serving onto plates. Garnish with chopped dill and a drizzle of olive oil.

2 responses to “Seafood Squid Ink Linguini

  1. Pantat March 31, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Actually I must say, this looks quite professional! Like something I’ll find at Cafe del Mar HAHA! Probably looks better in fact! HAHA!

Leave a Reply

