Crunchy Bottoms

Striking the caloric balance. Barely.

Hong Kong 2011: Mak’s Noodle

You’ll never have wanton noodles like Mak’s Noodle. This place has its own Wikipedia page, and that says a lot.

As a general rule, wanton noodles in Hong Kong are a force to be reckoned with. Why? I have no idea. That’s just how things work there.

Of course, things work a little different for me if you tell me that a particular eatery has graced the palate of Anthony Bourdain (one of my all-time favourite food idols with his sharp wit and callously poetic narratives on TV). In fact, there was a newspaper clipping under the glass of the table of Bourdain’s visit to Mak’s. There’s no other better reassurance of great food like slurping up a bowl of wanton noodles under (or above, actually) his trademark blasé gaze. But Bourdain aside, Mak’s Noodle has been around for ages, and is usually on the list of most gluttons’ food itinerary for the land of roast goose, egg tarts, congee, and dim sum.

I’ll let the picture say it all, except for the size. The bowl’s tiny. Really. Tiny enough for this to be a snack and for you to then head on down Wellington street for more goodies to come. It’s about 10cm in diameter, by my guesstimate (I used my palm for measurement, and I have a small palm). It’s not cheap for its size, but it’s worth every cent. I can’t quite remember exactly how much it costs but it’s around SGD$5 for a small bowl. I’d pay gladly if this were available freely in Singapore.

The broth is made exactly as how it was over 40 years ago – with powdered dried flounder, dried shrimp roe, and pork bones. It’s clear, and watery much like a consomme, but packs in so much flavour it’s staggering. You have the essence of seafood and pork bones in a tiny bowl. I can’t imagine having a better soup base for wonton noodles.

The noodles are, of course, part of the limelight with its semi-translucent glint and a characteristic springiness that makes it almost crunchy. It’s a healthy portion of noodles too.

The dumplings are perhaps one of the best around with their silky thin skin and crunchy prawn filling. Succulent. Very succulent.

Everything’s freshly made daily, as one would expect. This is, perhaps, one of the best forms of fast food you can get, your piping hot bowl of noodles descending onto your table before you even finish reading that Anthony Bourdain article under your table. The wonton noodles is a classic, but feel free to deviate with beef brisket, pork, and even an entire bowl of dumplings if the 3 (or was it 4) dumplings in your bowl weren’t enough.

-

Mak’s Noodle

77 Wellington St., Central, Hong Kong

4 responses to “Hong Kong 2011: Mak’s Noodle

  1. Paul January 8, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    its 4, have to agree, their wonton noodles are superb, from the springy handmade noodles to the wholesome soup with a rich shrimp flavor boiled with prawn heads and other stuff overnight. Its HKD 30 from what i remember, did u try their beef brisket and tendon also? its really gd!

    • Christine Leow January 8, 2012 at 7:20 pm

      No I didn’t. All I had was that bowl of noodles to share because the list of things to eat after was extensive. Haha. But yes, I’ll try that the next time I’m there. Love beef brisket.

  2. Emily January 9, 2012 at 11:16 am

    I love your blog! I’m at work now and secretly surfing the net on a boring Monday and the first thing i saw was that bowl of wanton mee! I stared at it for a good 5 seconds! goodness, which i have that bowl in my hands now, in my freezing office. great blog btw!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 768 other followers

