Crunchy Bottoms

Striking the caloric balance. Barely.

Brotzeit (Vivocity)

Brotzeit

As I’m punching out this post, I’m reminded and wrecked with guilt over the remaining 18 days of my Europe trip that happened about half a year ago that I have yet to write about. That will probably be done next year around this time if all goes well. And that’s me being optimistic.

Anyway, Frankfurt’s pork knuckles can wait (ETA 6 months from now). Brotzeit’s can’t.

It was with a fair bit of hesitation that I led the family into Brotzeit (pronounced broht-zye-eet), but I reasoned that since our last meal of wursts or brots or German-anything has been a good while ago, they wouldn’t turn green at the sight of potatoes anymore. And so they didn’t. But our Europe-seasoned habit of ordering three dishes for four to share remained even though I was ready to conquer the Schweinshaxe (Pork knuckle) all on my own when it eventually descended onto our table.

Pork Knuckle ($36)

This was one burnished crown of blisteringly, crackly, hunk-o-barbaric-looking, MEAT.

Just Meat in all its glory. Look at that. No, really, look at that. What higher power orchestrated such a perfect union of unctuous, smokey meat and golden, crisp skin?

And boy the skin really blew my mind into spätzle. It’s a crunch like no other. Not one bit of it is chewy. Every inch of the pork hock you’ll see is flawlessly blistered and splinters with such a grand cacophony you’ll get envious looks from the other tables. Crunchcrunchcrunch.

It could be the disappointing array of shao rou/ siu yok (Crispy roast pork belly) that I’ve had through this year that have really left me jaded, thinking that I’ll only keep finding chewy, greasy, soggy skins on my pork. But then came Salvation, the German kind of Salvation, and may all glory, laud and honour go to the Pork Knuckle. Please share it with your dining partners though, because as much as the carnivore in you will go into a frenzy, it’s massive and comes accompanied with sauerkraut and pickles and potatoes and salad leaves.

The meat isn’t falling-off-the-bone tender, but isn’t unpleasantly tough. Perhaps they smoked it through first, since the distinct smoky-ness goes right to the bone. Speaking of bone, do pick it clean. Good meat shan’t be wasted.

Brotzeit

I personally love the Brotzeit outlet at Vivocity, it’s got a gorgeous view, wide floor-to-ceiling glass windows and a bright, expansive feel. Order up one of their excellent biers and you’ll be all set for a good time. I tried one of their fruit beers a while back, and it was light and smooth.

Cordon Bleu ($23)

Sundays are schnitzel days, and while Mummy wanted the Cordon Bleu for its fine leg ham and melted cheese interior, the Original Wiener Schnitzel of breaded escalope of veal was tremendously tempting. It’s also been a while since I’ve had anything breaded and deep-fried, but this put everything else to shame with its delicate, lightly-browned crust. It looked classy. I never knew something battered and deep-fried could possibly look classy, because when someone mentions ‘deep-fried’, I think of large slabs of browned and greasy foodstuffs.

Dainty. This was dainty-looking. Lordie, what a description.

And an order of any schnitzel comes with a choice of a side dish, and Brotzeit’s potato wedges are fantastic. I’d just order them as a side next time.

Fine Leg Ham and Melted Cheese

There’s something very light, and refined about this slab of battered pork. The meat wasn’t tender enough though, but the oozy, mild cheese just sold me.

Backhendlsalat ($19.50)

Brotzeit’s salads are not to be trifled with. Portion, quality, quantity and, well…price wise. But I guarantee that it’s worth it. The leaves aren’t crisp. They’re delectably soft, in fact, a very interesting texture as compared to salads elsewhere. Oh they’re fresh alright, not limp and wilted, although because there was a mound of potato salad underneath it all, the leaves at the bottom got bruised and soggy. Not a major issue, really, when there’s crispy chicken slices, sun-dried tomatoes, refreshing cucumbers and beans, and pumpkin oil dressing. This salad’s to share, people, because it’s huge. Much like my current love for Brotzeit.

It’s been quality food and prompt service time and again, and it hasn’t disappoint. I hope it never does. Whatever or whoever is responsible for keeping the bar raised at such a height at Brotzeit should just keep at it. I’ll hazard a bet that any true blue German would feel absolutely at home here.

It might be a lot sooner than my thinning wallet can expect, but I’ll be back for the fladens and desserts. Maybe the Apfelstrudel.

No, definitely the apple strudel. And the blackforest cake.

-

Brotzeit (Vivocity)

Address:

1 Harbourfront Walk

#01-149-151

Vivocity

Singapore

Tel: +65 6272 8815
Opening Hours
Mon–Thu: 11am – 12am
Fri, Sat & PH eve: 12pm – 1am
Sun & PH: 11am – 1am

Weekend Specials

Schnitzel Day: Sundays

2 responses to “Brotzeit (Vivocity)

  1. royiii January 9, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I thought the schnitzel looked really good, though I wasn’t too convinced by the pork knuckle – if you like those you would probably like pigs trotters (which I think they do in Germany). They sound like a bit of a gristle fest!

    • Christine Leow January 9, 2011 at 11:54 pm

      Oh I love pigs anythings. And I should’ve taken a shot of the inside of the knuckle, but I was too distracted and starving. I don’t mind gristle, they make me feel human and proud to be an omnivore. XD

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 742 other followers

